National Chocolate Chip Day!

I just found out that tomorrow is National Chocolate Chip Day!  Like we needed another reason to celebrate chocolate, but I’m all for it!  I have a tremendous love for chocolate, no secret there, and would probably sell my own offspring for it.  OK maybe not, but there are days when it doesn’t sound so bad.  I think this is a good opportunity to share my Dad’s chocolate chip cookie recipe.  You remember super Dad, killer of mice that Mama cat won’t kill.  His cookie recipe is legendary.  The stuff dreams are made of.  It causes mobs to  form in the school lounge.  People will hunt you down in the hall if you have the green bowl.  You can try to make them yourself, but they won’t taste the same.  I can tell you from experience.  Maybe it’s the 30 year old cookie sheet.  Maybe it’s the wooden spoon he uses to stir it.  I don’t know.  But all we can do is try.

Dad’s Chocolate Chip Cookies

Stuff you need:

  • 1 cup shortening
  • 1 cup brown sugar
  • 1/2 cup sugar
  • 1 tsp vanilla
  • 2 eggs
  • 2 cups flour
  • 1 tsp baking soda
  • 1 tsp salt
  • 12 oz semi-sweet chocolate chips

Cream shortening, brown sugar, sugar, and vanilla.  Add 2 eggs and beat well.  Combine flour, baking soda, and salt.  Add to creamed mixture.  Stir in chocolate chips.  Drop onto ungreased cookie sheet.  Bake at 375° for 8-10 minutes.  Makes 7 dozen.

Sounds easy enough, doesn’t it?  I have to say that this was originally a recipe from the chocolate chip bag, Nestle I think.  It’s been tweaked a little, but it’s still pretty original.  No big secrets here!

Since we’re on the chocolate chip subject, I have one more to share.  Sex in a Pan.  Sorry Mom, that’s what it’s called!  If you haven’t had it, well you should.  In a pan.  I was under the weather a little this week and made it to soothe myself.  It’s probably been 10 years since I made it.  This recipe dates back to my college years.  My very good friend made it when I visited her at Angelo State, and that’s why we’re still friends.  So this one is from A.C., now M.  Just in case she doesn’t want to be identified with my insanity.  But most of you know who I’m talking about!

Sex in a Pan

Stuff you need:

  • German Chocolate cake mix
  • 1 stick butter, melted
  • 1/2 of a 5 oz can of milk
  • 14 oz caramels
  • 1/2 cup chocolate chips, + some more

Mix the cake mix, butter, and milk.  Pat half of the mixture in the bottom of a 10X7 pan.  Bake at 375° for 8 minutes.  While baking, melt the caramels and the rest of the milk.  Pour the caramel over the baked mix, and then sprinkle with the 1/2 cup chips.  With the rest of the cake mixture, roll into balls and flatten to make little cookies.  Place them side by side on top of the caramel & chips to cover the top.  Sprinkle more chocolate chips on top.  Bake for 8 minutes.

Another easy one, and oh so good.  I took a picture- I knew you would want to see!

Oh yeah

check out the ooey gooey goodness

It is love, love love. 

 
Let’s do one more, shall we?  But this one doesn’t involve chocolate.  This week I took Venison Chili to school and amazed everyone with my venison culinary skills.  At least that’s what they said.  Maybe they were just being nice.  But I prefer to believe that it was really that good!  I grew up on this stuff.  Venison Chili is commom around our house; and we can’t until the first cold spell to make some!  It’s just one of those comfort foods.  I’ve never made chili any way but with venison.  Some asked for the recipe, so here we go!
 
Venison Chili
 
Stuff you need:
  • 2 pkgs ground venison – In our house, this means 2 quart size ziplocs pretty much packed
  • 1 cup flour
  • 3/4 cup chili powder
  • 2 tablespoons salt
  • 2 small cans tomato sauce
  • water

Brown the ground venison completely and drain.  I usually use an electric skillet.  Return the meat to the skillet and gradually add the flour and continue to brown.  Place in a crock pot and add all remaining ingredients.  I just use enough water to fill the pot.  Cook for at least 3 hours, you want it to thicken and absorb all the spices.  I also start with just 1/2 cup chili powder and then add more according to taste.

So there it is,  all of my secrets.  I hope you enjoy at least one of these!

Kitten update:  The babies (who are now 7-8 weeks old) are getting brave and venturing out near the street these days.  It’s killing me.  And Miss M totally flips out to see them near the street.  I just know I’m going to come home to a kitty pancake in the street some day.  Ugh.

About Candy

Trying to cram 48 hours into every day. Love pink, sparkles, diamonds, all things girly. Mom to Miss M. Wish I had more time to bake the things that I don't need to eat.
This entry was posted in Recipes and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to National Chocolate Chip Day!

  1. Ok, that title cracked me up! Great recipes. I always use at least some crisco in my chocolate chip cookies.

  2. Amber says:

    i wanna be your first!!! not sure if i am, but i don’t see any other comments on your blog site yet, so maybe i am first! these are so fun to read. hope it becomes your new career. i will for sure be trying the latter two recipes, but as for your dad’s cookies, i know i can’t make them!!!

  3. Rhonda says:

    Gasp!!! You published THE cookie recipe!!!! Not that it’s such a secret, and not that they’ll even come out the same! I’m betting on the cookie sheet being the big difference.

Leave a Reply

